Cyber Citizen Shockman 2: A New Menace

Cyber Citizen Shockman 2: A New Menace

Last Updated on September 18, 2023

Cyber Citizen Shockman 2: A New Menace is a retro arcade action game launching on September 22nd for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Microsoft Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and Nintendo Switch. It is a sequel to the classic PC Engine game, Cyber Citizen Shockman, which was never released in the West.

The story takes place two years after the events of the first game, and follows Arnold and Sonya as they try to rescue the Doc and stop the Raio Empire, a new alien threat. The game features nine stages full of shooting action and 12 boss fights.

Shockman 2 plays differently from the first game. Swordplay has been replaced by a ranged weapon, and the world map and upgrades have been removed. The overall tone of the game is also a bit more serious.

Here are some of the key features of Cyber Citizen Shockman 2:

  • New game modes
  • Art gallery
  • Co-op local mode
  • Music composed by Koji Hayama (Mega Man ZX Advent)
  • Produced by Toshiro Tsuchida (Arc the Lad, Front Mission)
  • Many of the game’s bosses were designed by fans in Japan

If you’re a fan of classic arcade action games, be sure to check out Cyber Citizen Shockman 2 when it launches on September 22nd!

Weekly newsletterGet the latest retro gaming news in your inbox