New Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection Launching Soon

New Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection Launching Soon

Last Updated on December 17, 2022

Fancy revisiting Wonder Boy, the 1980s classic arcade game and console port? Coming soon is the Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection, which brings more than 20 versions of the game to Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation 5 in early 2023.

Wonder Boy is one of those arcade games that was ubiquitous during the 1980s.

Back in 1986, designer Ryuchi Nishizawa had an idea for a new action game, an automatically scrolling platformer with an added amount of pressure. The result was too difficult to play, but some elements were transferred to a new game, Wonder Boy, including the famous skateboard.

35 years later, the Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection from Bliss Brain brings you 21 versions of six of the most iconic Wonder Boy games ever released in a single download.

This collection features

Wonder Boy

Wonder Boy in Monster Land

Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair

Wonder Boy The Dragon‘s Trap

Wonder Boy in Monster World and

Monster World IV

These games are presented in multiple ports and versions, with 21 in total.

The collection boasts precise ports and new features (e.g.the ability to rewind your game at any moment, filter, shader, a save anytime option, etc.) crisp chiptune audio, a menu in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Japanese languages and perfect pixel art!

All of this, plus the list of titles, make this collection a must-have for fans of the Wonder Boy series, which evolved beyond action scroller and platformer into RPG territory.

The Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection is scheduled to be released digitally by Bliss Brain on January 26th, 2023 for Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5.

Weekly newsletterGet the latest retro gaming news in your inbox